Discussion Bumbling stock

I have met a stumbling block.

This isn't really a question as such.

I'm struggling at the moment with a horrid combination of lack of inspiration and writer's block. I keep re-writing things but not really getting anywhere. I have an idea of what I want to achieve 'a modern version of lazy jones'. But I'm not getting anywhere.

The problem is every time I try to recode something I learn something new, which in turn justifies my re-writing of it. However this does not produce any results that other people would appreciate.

I'm not a designer which doesn't help.

Does anyone else have writer's block and what form does yous take?

pixeltroid

I don't know if it's a "writers block" but sometimes, I spend hours working on art thinking "Wow this is my best piece yet!" and then I step back and see that it looks BAD. And I spend another hour polishing it but it still looks bad. Sometimes, I end up making it look even worse. Then I work on it again the next day, and I do something that improves it. It then sparks off a chain reaction in my mind, and fresh ideas gush in and I figure out how to improve it.

Sometimes, my "writers block" results from me failing to achieve the look of the art style I was going for. I've basically confined myself to that one art reference I liked. I keep checking if my work matches up to my art reference and when it doesn't, I feel like I'm not getting it done because I have a mental block. But when I begin to view the art references as a starting point (and not an iron rule that I must follow), I feel freer and make progress.