SOLVED Receiving "unable to convert string to int64" error.

flyinian

I'm getting the error, "unable to convert string "Count 2" to int64" when I run the below code.

I'm just learning arrays so, I don't fully understand how they operate yet.

I am trying to create an array that checks to see if all the items in the array returns all zeros or not.

GML:
var array;
var enemy_key1 = array[choose("Count 1", "Count 2", "Count 3")];
var enemy1 = EnemyList[? enemy_key1];

var check = false;
for(var i = 0; i <= 0; ++i){
if (array[i] == true){
check = true;
}
}
if(check == true){

noenemy = true;

};

if(noenemy = true){
show_debug_message("no enemy numbers to deduct");
exit;
}
else
{
show_debug_message("Enemy exists");

enemy1 -= EnemyList[? "totalcountdifference"];
EnemyList[? enemy_key1] = enemy1; 

show_debug_message("Enemy Count adjusted");   
};
};
};
Thank you.

Nidoking

var array;
var enemy_key1 = array[choose("Count 1", "Count 2", "Count 3")];
I really don't know what you think this should do, but it doesn't do that. It declares an undefined variable, and then tries to use a string (the result of choose) as an index into that variable, which as has been established, is undefined. I know you said you're just learning arrays, but if you haven't read the Manual pages on how they work or used any tutorials at all, you have a lot more learning to do.

flyinian

Is EnemyList a ds_map?
I really don't know what you think this should do, but it doesn't do that. It declares an undefined variable, and then tries to use a string (the result of choose) as an index into that variable, which as has been established, is undefined. I know you said you're just learning arrays, but if you haven't read the Manual pages on how they work or used any tutorials at all, you have a lot more learning to do.