GML ds_list_delete breaks ds_list order?

Mairoz

I am new to data structures. I tried to make a ds_list that stores all the sockets in my server. Whenever client disconnects from the server I remove the socket from the list using ds_list_find_value. However whenever that happens everything in the list that has higher position than the value removed, changes its position to -1.
Example:
I have ds_list with values:
I remove "3" with ds_list_delete
The list becomes:
1 and 2 have normal positions (0 and 1) but 4 and 5 position is changed to -1
What I would like to happen is that the list becomes: 1,2,4,5
If anyone knows how to do this, I would love to know. Thank you

Petrik33

That's strange, cause just yesterday I made the code where I delete the [0] element of the list and the other indexes just decrease and everything works fine. Maybe the problem is somewhere else? And have you tried deleting the 0 element? Because if it works fine when you delete it then the problem is here. Otherwise I think it's somewhere else.

Mairoz

That's strange, cause just yesterday I made the code where I delete the [0] element of the list and the other indexes just decrease and everything works fine. Maybe the problem is somewhere else? And have you tried deleting the 0 element? Because if it works fine when you delete it then the problem is here. Otherwise I think it's somewhere else.
Thank you for the reply. Yes it happens if I delete the [0] element as well. Because it is on the first position then what it causes is that all the other positions are set to -1. The only times the ds_list is accessed is when something is added to the list with ds_list_add or when something is removed from the list with ds_list_delete or when something is being read from the list with ds_list_find_value so I don't know what could possibly cause this to happen.

NightFrost