Latency between pressing button and action taking place?

A

Aaron Walton

I'm working on a platformer. I've got an issue where, when the player is running towards the edge of a surface, if I try to jump right off the edge, sometimes the player doesn't jump and instead just runs off the edge. I now realize that the issue isn't the jumping itself, but that there *seems* to a latency between the button press and the game registering the button press. I checked this by having the game create an object with the player sprite whenever I press the jump button. So, often when I'm running along a platform and jump near the end, the game only registers the button press after I've fallen off the platform.

Is this my imagination? Am I really just not pressing the jump button as soon as I think I am? Or is there some kind of latency issue that I'm not accounting for? I'm still a super beginner, and this is pretty much just Shaun Spaulding's platformer tutorial code. Just want to figure out if I'm crazy or if there's a way to work around this, or what.

EDIT: Sorry, of course I should have included code!
GML:
//oPlayer Step Event

key_left = keyboard_check(vk_left);
key_right = keyboard_check(vk_right);
key_jump = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_space);
key_jump_held = keyboard_check(vk_space);

var move = key_right - key_left;
hsp = move * walksp;
vsp += grv;

if place_meeting(x,y+1,oWall) && key_jump
{
    vsp = -jumpspeed;
}
//Creates an object to mark when I press the jump button
if key_jump instance_create_layer(x,y,"Player",oPlayerMarker);

if (vsp < 0) && (!key_jump_held) && !bounced
{
     vsp = max(vsp,-jumpspeed/4)
}

//horizontal collision
if (place_meeting(x+hsp,y,oWall))
{
    while !(place_meeting(x+sign(hsp),y,oWall))
    {
        x += sign(hsp);       
    }
    hsp = 0;
}
x += hsp;

//vertical collision
if (place_meeting(x,y+vsp,oWall))
{
    while !(place_meeting(x,y+sign(vsp),oWall))
    {
        y += sign(vsp);
    }
    vsp = 0;
    bounced = false;   
}