Shader resolution problems

Jam373

I'm pretty new to shaders and have used a guide to create an entire-screen underwater wavey effect. Works perfectly both in windowed mode and 16:9 rooms in fullscreen (my monitor resolution is 16:9). But on rooms that are in 4:3, rather than give me my black bars on either side in fullscreen, the shader draws everything (except gui) starting in the top left corner, giving me a double size black bar on the right.

How do I fix this?

I'll post pics if the explanation doesn't help.

Jam373

If you're drawing in the GUI event, you'll need to manually offset what you're drawing.
I think you misunderstand, the gui is the only part that works (because it's a gui and isn't effected by the shader) everything else is offset to the left corner. I think I'm asking how to make my shader draw to the centre of the screen rather than starting at the leftmost side of my monitor.

sp202

I think you misunderstand, the gui is the only part that works (because it's a gui and isn't effected by the shader) everything else is offset to the left corner. I think I'm asking how to make my shader draw to the centre of the screen rather than starting at the leftmost side of my monitor.
I wasn't referring to the GUI itself but rather the Draw GUI event, unless you're drawing with the shader in the Post Draw event instead.

Jam373

@sp202 Ah, well actually it was drawing in the Post Draw event. I just tried moving it to the Gui draw event and It actually fixed my issue! But it has given me a new issue.

I stole the shader from a yt video, that stole the shader from quake 1, so I really don't have technical knowledge of what the shader actually does. But the effect is to have the screen be all wavy like its underwater. When I draw the shader in the Gui event, fullscreening makes the effect more "dense".
So for example, rather than a full sine wave cycle being 10 in game pixels long, its 10 monitor/display pixels long. Does that make sense?