change multiple variables value in a for loop

K

katharzis

hello everyone.
i'm new to coding in general and i was wondering if you can help me with this problem:
i have this variables

GML:
global.StatLvl1 = 2
global.StatLvl2 = 2
global.StatLvl3 = 2
global.StatLvl4 = 2
global.StatLvl5 = 2
global.StatLvl6 = 2
global.StatLvl7 = 2
global.StatLvl8 = 2
global.StatLvl9 = 2
global.StatLvl10 = 2
as there will be more than 100 of this variables i want to use something like

Code:
for (var i = 1; i < 30; i ++)
    {

global.StatLvl(i) = 2
    }
i know this code is wrong or incomplete
can you please guide me in the right direction?

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
You ALMOST have it! :)

You want to use an ARRAY for your values instead of fixed variables. This would be done like this:
GML:
global.StatLvl = array_create(30, 2);
That will create a 30 item array with the value 2 for each item, and you can then access or change the value by doing something like:
GML:
global.StatLvl[4] = 100; // Change the fifth item in the array to 100 (arrays start at 0)
For more information, see these pages of the manual:

K

katharzis

You ALMOST have it! :)

You want to use an ARRAY for your values instead of fixed variables. This would be done like this:
GML:
global.StatLvl = array_create(30, 2);
That will create a 30 item array with the value 2 for each item, and you can then access or change the value by doing something like:
GML:
global.StatLvl[4] = 100; // Change the fifth item in the array to 100 (arrays start at 0)
For more information, see these pages of the manual:

Thank you so much for your fast response !

i have 1 more question... if i have already spread this "global.StatLvl1 = 2" allover my project , i'd say i have to convert them all from this form to an array, manually ?

OHH can i just Search/Replace (global.StatLvl1 = 2) with (global.StatLvl(1) = 2) ?
will this make my life easier?