• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Linux Ubuntu build with virtual machine, cannot connect

Hi.

My aim is to compile to Linux using Ubuntu on a virtual machine. My ultimate goal is to use GameMaker to create arcade style games and run them on a banana pi board, so I can develop and build arcade machinces as a project with my high school students.

I'm new to virtual machines and Linux, so I'm a bit out of my depth here. I'm trying to follow this guide. I have installed VirtualBox and installed Ubuntu 18.04 (and tried with 14.x as well). It seems to be working, and I am connected to the internet on the guest when using NAT network.

I cannot connect to my virtual machine. I can't even ping it from my Windows host. I am suspecting that the problem might be because I'm on a work computer, and the IT department has put some sort of restriction on it.

I've tried the following:
- Changing NAT network to bridge on the VM (this shuts down internet connection on the VM).
- Changing NAT network to Only Hosted Networks. I cannot find any Networks in VirtualBox > File > Settings > Network.
- Changing my Ubuntu guest to static IP, since I read somewhere that the three first parts of the IP address has to be the same on the host and guest. Every time I try to change to static IP, I lose internet connection.
Ifconfig on virtual machine says: "inet 10.0.2.15 netmas 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.2.255"
Ipconfig on host says: "IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1(Preferred)".

Thanks,
Peter

rIKmAN

I cannot connect to my virtual machine. I can't even ping it from my Windows host.
This isn't an really GMS issue, this is a networking issue.