• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Game Maker Canceled My Legitimate License

A

Aaron247

I have been using Game Maker since 2006. For one reason or another I have ended up buying the Pro version 3 separate times, the last of which was in 2012. For subsequent iterations of the program, I would use my 2012 license key to update the new version. I am using Game Maker 8.1 for my current project.

Well, yesterday as I sat down to work on a game that I've been working on for the last 10 years, Game Maker out of the blue rejected my license! It says it has been automatically checking the license every month, but now it no longer accepts it. Even when I type it in directly, it rejects it and says, "That looks like a softwrap code; update to Game Maker 8.1." But the code was sufficient for the last 8 years!

And when I emailed the helpdesk about it yesterday, they come back with, "We have no records of a license key associated with your email address. What was your license key? You didn't include it in your message."

But I did include it! They are blind to it! I am thinking it's because I bought the key through softwrap that they don't have records of it. But why does it all of a sudden not work? I saw another topic in this forum with a similar problem posted a few days ago. I don't know how or if that one's been resolved.

Thank you

Did you reply to them indicating you had already included your license key? And perhaps re-include the license key?

Is it possible you used a different email address when you bought the 2012 GM 8.1 software?

I would definitely persist with the Helpdesk. This is a user/community forum and we don't have access to licensing information as such.

A

Aaron247

Thank you for the reply.