• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Jump Up Sprite used as standard Sprite?

U

Ursidae

Hi,
i'm pretty new to GMS2 and followed a Tutorial on Youtube. Now i'm stuck at changing sprites depending on what the character does. The Tutorial is about 2 Years old and i think they changed how things internally work...
Heres the code:

CREATE
Code:
hsp = 0;
vsp = 0;
grv = 0.1;
walkspd = 4;
STEP
Code:
 //Get Player Input
key_left = keyboard_check (vk_left);
key_right = keyboard_check (vk_right);
key_jump = keyboard_check_pressed (vk_space);

//Calculate Movement
var move = key_right - key_left;

hsp = move * walkspd;

vsp = vsp + grv;

if (place_meeting (x,y+1,oWall)) && (key_jump)
{
    vsp = -7;
}

//Horizontal Collison
if (place_meeting(x+hsp,y,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x+sign(hsp),y,oWall))
    {
    x = x + sign(hsp);
    }
    hsp = 0;
}

x = x + hsp;

//Vertical Collison
if (place_meeting(x,y+vsp,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x,y+sign(vsp),oWall))
    {
    y = y + sign(vsp);
    }
    vsp = 0;
}
y = y + vsp;

//Animation
if(!place_meeting(x,y-1,oWall))
{
    sprite_index = sPlayerA;
    image_speed = 0;
    if (sign(vsp) > 0) image_index = 1; else image_index = 0;

}
else
{
    image_speed = 1;
    if (hsp == 0)
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayer;
    }
    else
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayerR;
    }
}
Hopefully someone can help =)

Thanks

samspade

That looks about right. If the animation is the only thing that doesn't work then the problem might be elsewhere. Have you confirmed that the sprites are correct? What does your draw event look like? Is there any draw code that could be changing or ignoring what you do here?