SDK Explanation?

J

J.T.

Hello, I’m new to GMS2 and have recently learned about SDKs. I’m a little confused about what they are and why they’re needed... Are they only necessary for publishing? Do you need to download an SDK before making a game or can you do it after when you’re ready to export?

Edit: I am interested in future developments for Steam

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
You need to download SDKs for every export other than the VM Windows export and the HTML5 export. They are the basic set of third-party tools needed for compiling both in-development and final builds, so it has to be done for every export that you plan to work with before you do anything.

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
SDK means "Software Development Kit", it's an umbrella term for any tools that are needed to develop code. What they are and how necessary they are differs a lot from case to case - for instance, at my work I have an SDK that's a folder installation that contains all files that are accessible in a real deployed system, so that you can compile code in a way that makes it think it's actually running on the system. In some other cases, the SDK is just a header file that contains the definitions of the functions you can get from inside a proprietary DLL.

What SDK are you curious about, more exactly? Steam? Android? Console ports?

J

J.T.

SDK means "Software Development Kit", it's an umbrella term for any tools that are needed to develop code. What they are and how necessary they are differs a lot from case to case - for instance, at my work I have an SDK that's a folder installation that contains all files that are accessible in a real deployed system, so that you can compile code in a way that makes it think it's actually running on the system. In some other cases, the SDK is just a header file that contains the definitions of the functions you can get from inside a proprietary DLL.