Any videos dedicated to fully understanding/teaching of GML code?

L

LiamCollie

I am looking into doing platformers and mostly RPGs.
And I am having trouble understanding code. Since I am new to it and all and have no background experience in it.

I'm looking for a video series that does in depth explanation on how to code.
Basically all the basics to help get you started.

I'm aware of a few videos from Yoyo's site. But I was curious if there is anything else like those that could be a big help. I'm also away of the in-game help for code. But I dont know any basics of writing and what to start off of.

Any help and recommendations are highly appreciated! Thank you! ^^

rIKmAN

I am looking into doing platformers and mostly RPGs.
And I am having trouble understanding code. Since I am new to it and all and have no background experience in it.

I'm looking for a video series that does in depth explanation on how to code.
Basically all the basics to help get you started.

I'm aware of a few videos from Yoyo's site. But I was curious if there is anything else like those that could be a big help. I'm also away of the in-game help for code. But I dont know any basics of writing and what to start off of.

Any help and recommendations are highly appreciated! Thank you! ^^
Complete Platformer Tutorial Series by Shaun Spalding
Farming RPG Tutorial Series by FriendlyCosmonaut

However if you are new to GMS2 I would recommend spending to some time to learn the basics first (variables, scope, loops, data structures etc) before trying to follow along with the tutorials as they require some basic knowledge of GML (unless you blindly copy+paste which is a no-no as you don't learn anything doing that).

Try following through with the YYG Tutorials to get a grip on how GMS2 works, the way the game loop works, what each event does and and how a basic project is structured, as well as learning some GML functions to get player input, move things around, draw to the screen etc.