Help Starting Off Coding

C

connor1409

Hi, I am quite new to GameMaker and I needed this for an assignment due in about two weeks time. I need some quick expertise in coding. What I am looking for is how to code an object to disappear after the player has typed what the object is. So for example I have a banana on the screen and a text area. I want the player to type the word 'banana' into the text area which in turn makes the banana disappear. Any help will be great.

Thanks

connor1409

C

Christian

keyboard_string or get_string will be your friend for the text area. (get_string and get_string_async should only be used for debug purposes).
other string commands might be helpful, but may not be necessary

instance_deactivate, image_alpha, or alpha will be your friend for the disappearing act.

Throw in some if statements and you're good to go.

Last edited by a moderator:
T

TDSrock

Now because it's an assignment, I don't think it would be fair for anyone here to do the work for you, but hopefully this will get you pointed in the right direction.
I don't see how it being an assignment or not has an affect on someone helping to do the work for the person being helped, I simply always have the person do as much as possible and try to only stick to pointers and explanations that are separate but still enough to understand the core principal.

H

Heat4Life

READ the Official GM:S Manual because there Is a lot of Info there that you might need...

T

TDSrock

READ the Official GM:S Manual because there Is a lot of Info there that you might need...
Cutting through all of it will be quite the chore. Build what you need. If you get stuck google: "gamemaker" *function you need*
With the quotes and you are bound to find what you need.