GameMaker Programming tutorials that are actually for beginners

A

Alex IE

Hello all,

Sorry if this topic causes some eye-rolls, but I'm really hoping someone can help me out here. I've been using game maker on and off for a few months now, and I feel like I've been getting nowhere. Every tutorial series I've seen that is recommended as being for "beginners" gets way too confusing a few episodes in, to the point where I'm just copying code without really knowing why things are coded the way they are in the videos. I'm not trying to attack specific uploaders or anyone in the community, but I don't see what I've been missing that everyone else seems to find so intuitive. I do understand some coding basics (and I do mean basics), but it seems that in so many tutorials most functions aren't really well explained. Even the game maker manual doesn't really explain what an array "is", and simply skips ahead to "what it can do."

Are there any tutorials out there that actually explain concepts, and then shows how to utilize and build on these concepts in order to make a basic game? I hope this post doesn't piss anyone off, I am genuinely trying to get better and improve my coding, and I'd like to stick with game maker since I did purchase it, but not being able to get my head around these "basics" and progress to doing the things I actually want to do is becoming extremely frustrating. Again, sorry for the noob post and my sincere gratitude to anyone who can offer any advice besides "quit" or "git gud."

Hello all,