GameMaker Menu object not appearing after following a tutorial

S

SARAndipitii

Hi!

So I'm a beginner when it comes to GMS and coding in general. I followed a tutorial for creating menus:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWAhi10q1ZE&

I followed everything to the letter with the exception of the general layout of the menus, some visual elements and controls, but I don't see my object at all. It's already added to the room and "visible" is checked.

Below is the code I'm using.

Create
Code:
gui_width = display_get_gui_width();
gui_height = display_get_gui_height();
gui_margin = 32;

menu_x = gui_width+200;
menu_y = gui_height - gui_margin;
menu_x_target = gui_width - gui_margin;
menu_speed = 25; //lower is faster
menu_font = font_main;
menu_itemheight = font_get_size(font_main);
menu_committed = -1;
menu_control = true;

menu[0] = "Continue";
menu[1] = "New Game";
menu[2] = "Settings";
menu[3] = "Credits";
menu[4] = "Exit";

menu_items = array_length_1d(menu);
menu_cursor = 2;

Draw GUI
Code:
draw_set_font(font_main);
draw_set_halign(fa_left);
draw_set_valign(fa_middle);

for (var i = 0; i < menu_items; i++)
{
    var offset = 2;
    var txt = menu[i];
    if (menu_cursor == i)
    {
        txt = string_insert("> ", txt, 0);
        var col = c_white;
    }
    else
    {
        var col = c_gray;
    }
    var xx = menu_x;
    var yy = menu_y - (menu_itemheight * (i * 1.5));
    draw_set_color(c_white);
    draw_text(xx-offset,yy,txt);
    draw_text(xx+offset,yy,txt);
    draw_text(xx,yy+offset,txt);
    draw_text(xx,yy-offset,txt);
    draw_set_color(col);
    draw_text(xx,yy,txt);
}

Step
Code:
if (menu_control)
{
    if (keyboard_check_pressed(vk_up)) or keyboard_check_pressed(ord("W"))
    {
        menu_cursor++;
        if (menu_cursor >= menu_items) menu_cursor = 0;
    }
    if (keyboard_check_pressed(vk_down)) or keyboard_check_pressed(ord("S"))
    {
        menu_cursor--;
        if (menu_cursor < 0) menu_cursor = menu_items-1;
    }