I need help with a basic card game - BEGINNER

T

TidusXCloud000

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner to Game Maker Studio 2, I have made some basic games such as platformers and top down tank shooters in previous Game Makers to give you an idea of where I am up to in my experience.

I am trying to make a game right now which is a card game which involves one player or two players. I'll give you the rules:
The game is based off of Topps Match Attax and their soccer section. Essentially one player gets to choose either 'attack' or 'defence'. Each card has an attack stat and a defence stat. Two players place a card down and whoever has the highest stat wins both cards, and rests them next to the player, showing the amount of cards he has won. The game will go on until one player has lost all of their cards. So what I am struggling with is the fact that I have many cards with different statistics. How would I give a player a random deck of cards, and then let them choose a stat on which to play on. Basically, how would I code this game? I understand the basics, which is setting up the room, the sprites, and I have made an object for each of the cards to go off of. If anything is unclear, please do not hesitate to ask. I will leave an example of one of the cards in the link below. Also, I can just make the card change from its back to the front through just an animation where the player clicks and both cards flip, right? Thank you so much!IMG_4633.JPG

T

Taddio

I Basically, how would I code this game? I understand the basics, which is setting up the room, the sprites, and I have made an object for each of the cards to go off of. View attachment 24728
Don't go with one object per card. Use at most one object for the whole deck of cards.