When to use Kickstarter and be successful?

I've been working on my game for three years now and have already spent around $600 to $700 on assets (possibly more). I want to start a Kickstarter campaign to fund everything else I need for the game and was wondering when would the right time be to start one. I've blown through my original demo budget and can't afford anything else at the moment. Most of my budget so far has gone into concept art and sprite animations. I'd likely need around $20,000 at the least in order to get the bare minimum of what I need done.

I'm really early in development and only have 11 enemies finished (eight of which are demo ready) and a few player [card] attacks. I don't have sound effects, but I do have several music tracks. The battle system is around 75% - 80% done and I have the menu system and deck editor finished.

Would launching a campaign now be a smart move with what little I have? I understand that Kickstarter can be a bit of a gamble, but seeing the success of something like One Step From Eden lets me know there is an audience for the style of game I'm making. However, I've seen so many projects fail to get funded, which is why I also seek some advice on how to increase my chances of success.

Here is some old gamplay from a few months ago just in case your wondering how the game looks:

Apologies if this is the wrong section to post this.

Last edited:

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
I know better than to buy into a Kickstarter for a game that so blatantly infringes on Capcom's copyright on Megaman.

This is a project that you should have never betted on making a net income out of.

Edit: Corrected owner of Megaman's copyright.

Last edited:
I know better than to buy into a Kickstarter for a game that so blatantly infringes on Konami's copyright on Megaman.

This is a project that you should have never betted on making a net income out of.