Most efficient branching dialogue system

B

Buginjar

Hello, I am extremely new to programming and game making so I'd like to get some advice before i officially start working with game maker 2. My goal is over the next couple years to make a game primarily based around a fairly complex branching dialogue/branching narrative system. Theres going to be a smallish interactive town with 50 or so characters, each with 10-30 conversations, all with many branching dialogue trees. It's also going to feature a huge amount of long winded text for all of the branches.

I started making this in rpg maker but recently abandoned that project as rpg maker is too limiting for me. Unfortunately I was spoiled by how utterly simple it is to build branching dialogue trees in that program.

So I have a few questions. The first is is it wise to even attempt this project in game maker studio 2? Or would I be better off using a different program/learning more complex coding myself and just building this in C++ or something?

Second is if this could work in game maker what is the most efficient way to code all this?

A few other things, I know basically nothing about coding. I am willing to put in whatever time I need to understand any tutorial you guys can post, i just wanted to get some advice before I really dived into learning how to do this.

And one other thing is my game is not going to have any sort of combat system. It will be more in the style of a visual novel, but with a town you can walk around in and time progression. So any space that would have been taken up by that will also be going to more dialogue and branches.

Any advice is appreciated thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
B

Buginjar

I'd recommend looking into json files. They should do you fine with dialogue branches