• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker "Variable not set before reading it" error. Me very confused...

M

monkeyfrommars

Hello! I'm pretty new to programming, but I have this assignment that requires me to create a game from scratch. It's a top-down, pixel rpg. Anyways I have this warp block that warps the player to another room and then destroys itself when it collides with the player. Before, I had the command "instance_destroy(self);" at the end of the collide with player event, but that didnt work so i tried this:
Create Event:
var targetRoom, targetX, targetY, newmsg;

Collide with player event:
instance_create_depth(0, 0, -9999, otransition);

room_goto (targetRoom);
oplayer.x = targetX;
oplayer.y = targetY;

objective = newmsg;

marker = true;

Step Event:
if (marker = true)
{
instance_destroy(owarp2);
}

It still wont destroy itself though, this has happened a few times and I dont understand how I fixed the other ones. I'm on a tremendous time crunch so I havent had time to peruse the manual im sorry i know i should have... again im fairly new to programming, but id like to think that i have a natural talent for it (evidently not, i suppose). Sorry for the long thread i tend to ramble a lot...

EDIT:
Whoops sorry I forgot to add the creation code for the object.
Creation Code:
marker = false;
targetRoom = inschool;
targetX = 1215;
targetY = 720;
newmsg = "Wait for Mom at the front";

Last edited by a moderator:

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
First, you need to give marker a starting value in the Create event. You can't reference a variable until you've done that.
Code:
marker = false;