Brugselia - 3D Exploration / Adventure

Bart

WiseBart
Brugselia

Brugselia - a fictional name for a fictional historical city, may or may not refer to Bruocsella
Hi everyone.
Here's the first post on a game that I've been working on on and off for a few years now.
Both code and models have now gotten to a point where I think enough work has been done to show it here on the forums.

The game is being developed in GameMaker Studio 2 and modeling is done in Blender.

Plot
The game takes place at the start of the 17th century in the city of Brugselia.
You play as Charles, a young child who ends up in this city after having been found lost in the fields around Brugselia, exhausted and heavily injured.
He is found by two so-called 'beguines', who take care of him and raise him.
Ten years later, he still lives in Brugselia but strange things start to happen. And it seems like those are only the beginning...

The game world

The Land of Brugselia

The city of Brugselia

The game world is inspired by the historical Duchy of Brabant, or Braecbant in older times.
The duchy's importance is largely due to the success of its two largest cities, Machlines and Brugselia.

The city of Brugselia is inspired by the several historical cities in nowadays' Belgium. Most buildings have been - to an extent - inspired by an actual building. The city itself, however, is an entirely fictional creation.

The prosperous city of Brugselia is the capital of the Land of Brugselia and the second largest city in the Duchy of Braecbant, after the capital Machlines.
Originally, its prosperity was largely due to its port, which is still the largest in the duchy. In more recent times, the Brugselia Exchange and University have become two important places.

Lore
Information on buildings and locations will be provided through lore. Part of the world's lore corresponds to actual history of the real world, part of it doesn't.

Memoires