• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Hello, New user asking for advise

H

hordolur

Hello everyone, I am new to this software and looking to try it,
I am wondering if there are step by step tutorials for a beginner, like Hello World
Any help and advise would be helpful thank you

L

Luto

you can type "my first gm game" in youtube, and search for playlists. or search for "introduction to the interface of game maker". and reading the manual is mandatory if you want to do great things on your own.

rIKmAN

If you are using GMS2 then there are tutorials on the main page you can load up and follow along with using either DnD or GML - look for the Space Rocks example.

As Luto said there are also many tutorials on YT and which can be found via Google which go through creating a "your first game" type project.

Mert

Try this series. Although everything is well detailed, in any case If you have any questions during the video, press F1 button on Game Maker Studio 2 IDE to open the manual and search for the term.
(For example : what is a room ? Search within the documentation)

You can also access to the documentation on browser here : https://docs2.yoyogames.com/

Toque

I second space rocks tutorial.

It moves along pretty quick. You will have to pause and watch a few times. Lowering YouTube play speed helps too.

D

Danei

As a piece of general advice in case you don't know, within gamemaker itself you can middle-click on functions and built-in variables inside your code to be taken to the manual's entry on that thing. That's something I didn't figure out for months and is really helpful for learning.

samspade

Hello everyone, I am new to this software and looking to try it,