How much would it cost for help with my game?

M

mont266

Hi!
Please note: This is not a hiring post, this is just a curious question :)

Over the last month, I've been working on an RPG in my spare time. I didn't intend on really going anywhere with it but it's starting to take shape and I am beginning to really enjoy seeing it develop.

I've spent the better part of a day working on lighting and implementing an inventory into the game but to be able to make something that works properly is beyond my current skill set. I am a student and can't afford to hire someone to properly work on this with me.

So I'm writing this to see if anyone can give me a rough estimate of how much it would cost to get someone with the right skillset to implement lighting and an inventory system into my game?

S

Sabrina Stoakes

Really depends on the programmer honestly. I've seen some charge $15 an hour, some $10 an hour, and I've even seen some that just straight up do it because they want to help (although rare, and they're probably hoping you'll give them a nice tip.)

I don't want to knock any of the many talented programmers here because their skills are infallible, but I'm sure most of them here would agree that learning how to do these things yourself is worth far more than just letting someone else do it. I think good ole @matharoo does tutoring, or probably knows someone who does. I really think learning it yourself would be the best bet especially since you mentioned that you have limited funds. I have been working on my game pretty much by myself these past 2 months and I have spent only about $120 on it total.

M

mont266

Really depends on the programmer honestly. I've seen some charge $15 an hour, some $10 an hour, and I've even seen some that just straight up do it because they want to help (although rare, and they're probably hoping you'll give them a nice tip.)