HTML5 HTML5 Multiplayer

B

BobFish

Hello everyone (its great to be back on the GMC :)

I have been planning on making a smallish web multiplayer game in order to get a project completed as Its been a while since I last did that. I have some experience with multiplayer using windows but not with HTML5.

I made a thread on Reddit a while ago but apparently you can't 'do multiplayer' with HTML5 (the response I recieved). Is this true? Is there some workaround?

thank you.

B

BobFish

Of course, you can create multiplayer HTML5 games with GM:S.
This was what I thought. I thought it would be kind of silly if you couldn't. Is it simply the same as windows?

A

Aura

You'll want to write some Javascript for this. Client-side it's pretty easy, using websockets you can easily connect to a server by setting up a listen handle for a specific port and server URL. Websockets give you various events to work with such as on connect (when you connect succesfully to a server) or on message (when a server broadcasts a message to you).

Serve-side it's a bit trickier as you'll need to handle all players and transfer incoming data to other players depending on your game design. But here you also have a lot of functions to work with. You can write a server in any language you want really, but Javascript servers have become very easy using NodeJS. Either ws or socket.io are great to use with NodeJS, and it's not too difficult to write your own server that way. You'll then need hosting, which isn't as simple as regular webhosting, but it's available and you can of course run your own NodeJS server.
You'll then need to build a few JS extensions to call (and callback) the multiplayer JS-functionality from GM and you'll need to do some callbacks as well. This is probably the easiest part, though. The big part is writing the Javascript, in particular server-side.

S

snabel

Of course, you can create multiplayer HTML5 games with GM:S.