• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GM2 Discounted - Time to buy it?

Raoul

Hi,
I am quite new to GM and GML. A Couple years ago I downloaded and tried GM Studio 1.4 but at that time I did not go much further with any game development.

A few weeks ago I run it again and started programming a game from scratch, actually I reprogrammed the original Donkey Kong and I must admit I am quite pleased with the results.

1.4 has pretty much all what I needed but I understand it has been discontinued.
I am now tempted to puchase MK2 but I wonder if it makes sense given that my scope is just to do some free time programming and 'simulate' the good old arcade games.

I am looking for your input to understand what would be the benefit of moving to the new GM2, I am a somehow afraid I could find the new environment not so familiar as I now feel with 1.4

What were your reasons to move to GM2?
3 points you would mention as good reasons to puchase it?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Raoul

Hi Toque, thanks for your feedback.

I had already gone added the developer desktop (79$) to the basked when I noticed the Web edition.
I am not familiar with HTML5 at all, but would that version compile the same stuff in a way that can be played via a browser?
Would it work with pretty much all games (not cpu intensive) or limitations are to be considered?

Thanks again!

Toque

I don’t have the html so I couldn’t say. I know it has a few issues. Someone that has it should be able to comment.

Mert

Buying them on Steam is a lot cheaper than buying from Yoyogames' website, at least for me.

M

Maigal

Hi Toque, thanks for your feedback.