• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Quality vs. Originality

CloseRange

I'm willing to admit I am a horrible drawer. I have been practicing for many years and I have quite frankly given up trying to get good at it.
My question is simple, some people will get angry at designers who use bought assets, but is that small number worth it if the quality of a game is greatly increased because you used actually good art?

matharoo

manualman
GameMaker Dev.
If the asset is popular or cheap, some people may notice since it would be more widely used, but still not a big issue if the game is good. If the asset isn't easy to find or is costly, then there would be less games with the same graphics, so that would work out better.

It's totally okay to buy assets if you can't draw yourself or can't hire an artist. That's why they exist! :D

11clock

Nobody really care about how a product been made, but what it does.

Look at "I wanna be the guy".
Please don’t use one of the worst games ever designed as a good example for anything. It isn’t even a product, or else the developer would have been sued to the ground.

You shouldn’t buy premade assets, and make your own, or hire an artist to do the work. Custom assets are fine as placeholders, but get them out by the time you make promotional material.

I am also terrible at art, but I make my own anyways because I don’t want my game looking like 20 billion others on the Steam store.

Last edited:
W

Widget

My question is simple, some people will get angry at designers who use bought assets, but is that small number worth it if the quality of a game is greatly increased because you used actually good art?