• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

When's the best time to start showing your game?

A few months of development? When there's a working demo?
I'm wondering when the best time to show your game is. I'd be afraid if I show it too early people might steal it or steal my self-made music...
This really is focusing on when I should post my game's topic in the In-Progress section.

I'm a one-man developer and I've been working on my game for over a year (a few months in actual work-time). I don't have a demo yet and won't be having one until I can program my first two boss fights and some puzzles, unless I decide to release a very short demo (5-10 minutes).

W

Widget

This logic is like "I don't want to release my game, people will just pirate it".

Just show what you got when you want to. There's no point worrying about these things. If people are going to steal from you, they're going to find a way no matter what.

My suggestion on starting to show your game is start whenever you feel like you can make consistent updates.

Reactions: Yal
This logic is like "I don't want to release my game, people will just pirate it".

Just show what you got when you want to. There's no point worrying about these things. If people are going to steal from you, they're going to find a way no matter what.

My suggestion on starting to show your game is start whenever you feel like you can make consistent updates.
Not release it per say, but start showing it to people so I can build a crowd. The game wonā€™t be released for a few years

The fear isn't that it would be pirated, as that's unavoidable... but rather the fear that my game or idea/art/music would be stolen and used by someone else.