That's a lot of questions

V

Vinicius Alvarenga

Hello everyone,
I'm new at GMS, and i'm trying to make a 3D puzzle horror game based on I'M SCARED and DO NOT BELIEVE IN HIS LIES. i'm seeing that is really challenging, specially because its 3D and GMS its made specially for 2D games, so i have some questions and i think you guys can solve them.

1- How can i have the same graphics that we see in I'M SCARED, like everything pixelated but still 3D?
2- How can i create files outside the game just like I'M SCARED?
3- How can i create a globalvar but it works with other objects? (If it's possible)

Srry if did some english mistakes, i'm brazilian :v (i'm not using google tradutor i swear)
Thx everyone

C

CedSharp

First, welcome to the GameMaker community. I see you have an account since august but welcome anyways :D

I just want to point 3 things before I answer your questions:
- GameMaker Studio 2 (GMS:2) is NOT only for 2D anymore, it has decent support for 3D with models, matrixes and all the nice vertex/vertice goodies. It probably doesn't compare to unity but it's still very powerful.
- If you are new to GameMaker, I hope you aren't new to programming. 3D is NOT the type of first project you should be making and you'll be hitting only walls if you struggle with 3D at your level. (if you have experience with programming ignore this)
- Usually, on the forums, you don't ask for people to tell you what to do. You first try something, then if it goes wrong you explain what you tried and what you wanted to achieve. THEN people will help you. No one will tell you how to do something if you don't even try yourself first ;)

Now, on to answering your questions:
1. I'm almost sure this is a shader. It's not actually pixelated, it's probably real 3D with a shader that makes it look like it's pixelated.