Rotating Pixel Graphics

O

Oxyloged

Hi,

I'm fairly new to GM:S and starting work on my first project. It's going to be a top down shooter/rpg hybrid, I'm currently designing some placeholder sprites so I can get started properly. Now the player's sprite is going to be using a four directional sprite that will change based on where the mouse is pointed, but the weapons are going to be a single sprite that pivot on the spot to point at where the cursor is, they will have a full 360 degree range of movement and there won't be any art for different directions. I'm pretty bad with words so I've uploaded some images to show what I mean.

The top sprite was rotated at it's original size (And then blown up so you can see it better) and the bottom sprite was blown up before being rotated. The bottom image is the effect I'm looking for, even if it doesn't line up with the rest of the pixelated sprites.

low res rotation (1).png
rotated.png

Now I know i can achieve this easily by making all my graphics 128x128 but I'm wondering if there's anyway I can achieve this effect while keeping all my graphics at 32x32, keeping in mind that the game will be zoomed in most of the time so there will certainly be enough pixels on screen.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

RangerX

Keep it logic my friend. There's one and only reason why the second gun stripe is smooth. Its only because the resolution is higher. That's all there is to it.
So you have your answer already, can't do it 32x32 because you need MUCH more pixel to draw the gun smooth.

NeoShade

@RangerX is right, there's no way to rotate a low-res sprite and have it look clean like the effect you're going for.