• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Design Psychological Design

If it's one thing that games do best, it's getting people to think, both stategically and emotionally. I've been sitting on the idea for a few years even and would like to bring the discussion up to the devs:

How can we start designing not only at the entertainment level, but also at the psychological level? Not implying that it hasn't been done before, but I see great potential in using games to treat depression, anxiety, maybe even addiction. I believe it would do the world a lot of good if we can find the right way to do it. Albeit everyone's experience with depression and anxiety are different, and one solution isn't gonna solve every problem, but the best we can do is to help those who need it. I know I can think of a few times where games have lifted me up through dark times, without even being the games' intended design. Maybe we could build a game that's ideally a big therapy session, without the player even knowing that it is. Games that are morally driven are especially great for this, and I think it would be interesting if a game wasn't so much built around the morality of the player, but the morality of the game itself, possibly helping the player with any mental struggles. A soul-lifting game, if you will. Strike a balance between the enjoyment of a video game and the brain-science of psychology, and I think we would have something very special. What are your thoughts?

sylvain_l