• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Need some help!

Z

Zande45

So I know programming but am a total newbie at game maker studio. I started to make a game without youtube tutorials cause I want it to be more original... Right now, its a top down game of a sailing/fighting. But, theres no fighting yet.. Heres why:

I would like to give the player the option to purchase more guns for their ship.. How would I add guns to it? I played with the draw event and instance_create to no avail.. The guns need to be placed onto the ship object and move with it perfectly.. Or should I make another image of the ship and use image_index?

Future question: How should I make the enemy ship AI? It needs to not just chase the player but turn to the side and orbit, so it can fire the side cannons at the player

N

noobhere

@Zande45 I'd usually prefer to use draw event and instance_create. It's more (seriously) easy to edit. You'd like to have more than one guns equipped so that it combined or just one gun that can be equipped? You can achieve all of that by using it.

Z

Zande45

@Zande45 I'd usually prefer to use draw event and instance_create. It's more (seriously) easy to edit. You'd like to have more than one guns equipped so that it combined or just one gun that can be equipped? You can achieve all of that by using it.
Im thinking it should start with only one cannon on each side and you could add more to it.. At the moment its all simple graphics but im still not sure how to use the draw event or whether to use instance_create_depth or instance_create_layer.. Would it go in the player's create event? Or do I need to add a draw event?

N

noobhere