How to make "Game over" screen and restart room by pressing space?

pixeltroid

As of now for my platform project, I have a working overhead health bar that correctly displays damage taken by player. I want to make it such that when the player dies, the following things should happen:

1. First we see "You died. Press space to restart" displayed on the screen (where the player died)
2. Player needs to hit "space" to restart game.
3. When game restarts, players is put back at the start of the room with his health bar reset to 100

I tried different tuts but each tut followed a different method and they didn't help me achieve the effect I wanted. I understand this "room restart" and "game over" thing involves health systems, rooms and text but I don't how how to go about it.

I am not a coder. Please explain slowly. Can someone please tell me what codes to put in what object?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

P.S - For reference, I am working with obj_player and obj_healthbar

Last edited:
L

Lars Karlsson

EDIT: More in depth examples given there -> LINK

I've never written a 'reset' before, but I think I've got something that could work.
I'm going to assume that the player's health is stored in the obj_player. If not, tell me where it is and we'll work around that.
It deppends a bit on how things are being made and if several rooms are being used.

So first we want to declare a variable to keep track of wether or not the game is ready for a restart.
Code:
[Player Create Event]

restart = false;

Here we check inside the step event if the player has died. If true; we put the 'restart' variable to true and we are now checking for a spacebar input to happen. If that triggers, then we restart.
Code:
[Player Step Event]

if (health <= 0)
{
    restart = true;
    if (keyboard_check_pressed(vk_space))
    {
        room_restart();
    }
}

This part is for drawing the text. If the restart variable is true; we draw the text.
Code:
[Player Draw Event]