GMC Jam Tetrix Quick-build [PC Demo] [Source]

Hyomoto

A quick, 3-day project by Devon Mullane

Some of you may know me for my work on a remake of the NES Final Fantasy, a project I've been working on for a few months now. Well, I wanted to take a break and do a little something else. The result? A nice three day project to put together TETRIX, a Tetris clone. Consider this a personal GameJam, a quick personal project with an emphasis on putting together a high quality finished result. It has 3 game Types, 3 difficulties, and supports both gamepad and keyboard controls, as well as partial mouse support. It also uses an internal scaling routine to try to provide a good resolution for your monitor despite being in 160x144 resolution.

To be honest one of the game types, TOWER, does not currently function. I'd like to finish it one day, it's meant to be an interesting twist on the core gameplay, but my time is up so here is the working demo and more importantly, if you want to see how it works, the source code. I actually learned to code in the 90's on a Macintosh LC taking apart Hypercard projects. The fact you could open up any project and tinker with it to see how it worked was a wonderful thing. Something that bothers me about the current state of the GMC is there just isn't a big emphasis on sharing our work with each other. So here's my contribution. Keep in mind it's lightly documented, and literally provided as-is. That said, if you have any questions about how it works, feel free to ask. Oh, and bugs, report those if you find any (or even try to fix them yourself!)

I'm putting it up in WIP for now because I would like to finish up the scoring scene, high score table and the final game mode as well as add some more sounds and animations. But for now, it's definitely quite playable.

- CONTROLS -
Keyboard:
Up - Hard drop block
Left, Right - Move block, choose menus
Down - Fast drop
Escape - Start button
Z/K - Rotate block left/right, cancel/accept