GML What programming language is best after GML?

M

Mobie

I'm a teacher who want's to increase his value to school districts so I want to learn another language, now that I'm pretty good with basic GML. What would be a good language to follow GML with? Python, JavaScript, C, Java, or what? What would be a good one to teach to children and teenagers? I already teach a GameMaker class, and kids love it.

Someone said that Python follows GML easily. T/F? I have no intention of becoming a developer in the new language; just want to be good enough to teach introductory lessons to kids.

Last edited by a moderator:

Paskaler

In my opinion Python is the easiest one to pickup out of those you listed. JavaScript is good for it's similiarity to GML. Do note, most of the languages(including the ones you listed), are more expressive than GML, so there'll be a learning curve to adapt to a new style of coding and the different paradigms(eg. Object Oriented Programming).

J

JFitch

I started learning Java so I could program Android apps in Android Studio.

M

Mobie

I started learning Java so I could program Android apps in Android Studio.
Yeah, maybe Java is the next logical step. Someone was telling me that Java is declining in favor of other languages, but I don't know if it's true.

S

Sam (Deleted User)

C++ is the most fun I've had out of the languages apart from GML. But Visual Basic is by far the easiest language I can think of that is for general programming and not necessarily game development.

H

hunijkah

I went from GML to web languages, I found it the best switch because of the ease of getting something on the screen to see after writing some code.

Look into HTML (for the structure of the website), CSS ( for the styling of the website) and PHP ( for the logic on the website)

HTML and CSS are very easy to get into.

PHP is loosely written (meaning you can set a variable like so $name = "Daniel"; and then easily change it's type to a number with $name = 38;