Total shader newbie needs help

M

moogthedog

I have no idea if this is the right place for this, so if not, I apologise and I'll remove.

I have created a couple of projects in Gamemaker 1.4, and have enjoyed using the system. Now I'm looking to investigate shaders, as I want to apply some more complex effects to some sprites. I'm a long-time programmer, but fairly new to Gamemaker.

As a first stab, I am looking to create a shader that will only render the even numbered lines of a sprite or surface, based on its X,Y value on the screen. (So a sprite at position Y=3 will not have a top line and alternating between on and off down from there, but a sprite at Y=4 would have its second and fourth lines 'missing' and so on down...)

I figured I could do this by setting the odd numbered lines to be completely transparent. The idea is to then have a second shader that does this to the even numbered lines (presumably that'll be a very similar script :) ) and have the two items 'pass through' each other like a comb effect.

I figured this should be fairly easy, and wrote the code below into the vertex portion of a new shader:

Code:
void main()
{
    vec4 object_space_pos = vec4( in_Position.x, in_Position.y, in_Position.z, 1.0);
    gl_Position = gm_Matrices[MATRIX_WORLD_VIEW_PROJECTION] * object_space_pos;

/* MY BIT HERE */
    int halfline=int(in_Position.y/2.0);
    halfline=halfline*2;

v_vColour = in_Colour;
    /* AND HERE*/
    if (halfline!=int(in_Position.y))
    {
        v_vColour.a=0.0;
    }

v_vTexcoord = in_TextureCoord;
}
The idea being that I create a 'forced even' version of the Y co-ordinate of the vertex (halfline), and if that *doesn't* match the 'real' Y co-ordinate (meaning it's an odd line number), then the alpha is set to zero.

I applied this to a simple sprite of a white circle ...

Code:
object draw event {
shader_set(shader0);
draw_self();
shader_reset();
}