Please tell me how to make a fade transition between rooms.

pixeltroid

I'm a complete noob to programming and I've been using gamemaker for less than a week now. So far, I have figured out character movement, basic enemy AI, room changes, level design and sprite animations. I can confidently say that my first game is taking shape pretty well.

However, for the last 2 days, I've been trying to create a simple fade transition as I change rooms and this has got to be the most difficult thing to achieve. How can such a simple thing be so difficult!?

All I need is to have the room fade in from black when it starts. Can I PLEASE get step by step instructions and the code that I can simply copy paste into my project?

A

Aura

Welcome to the GMC! ^^

Since this a programming question and not a game design or development query, let's get this moved to the Programming forum.

Either way, this tutorial might be what you have been looking for:

pixeltroid

Welcome to the GMC! ^^

Since this a programming question and not a game design or development query, let's get this moved to the Programming forum.

Either way, this tutorial might be what you have been looking for:

Thanks. I did exactly as instructed in the video but I kept getting an error message. I couldn't get it to sync with my room change codes

This is what I've been using

create event for door
//initialize the door
new_x = 0;
new_y = 0;
new_room = noone
create event for door

//initialize the door
new_x = 0;
new_y = 0;
new_room = noone
create event for door

//initialize the door
new_x = 0;
new_y = 0;
new_room = noone

collision between player and door
//go thru the door
if (room_exists(other.new_room)) {
room_goto(other.new_room);
x = other.new_x;
y= other.new_y; }
In the map, for room1, I added a creation code for my door specifying where I spawn in room2
new_room = room2;
new_x = 384
new_y = 320

And I added this creation code for the door in room2, that puts me back into room1.
new_room = room1