Legacy GM object collision problem

D

Dzoksi

Hi everyone, I'm new with Gamemaker. So I have problem, probably because of myself :)
Sorry if my english is not good :)

Well, I'm creating game where you pick up an object and with mouse move it and drop it where you want, and if some other object is already at this position, first object needs to go back to previous position. It is grid moving.
Objects are like that in tetris game.
So, my problem is..
I used place_meeting, position_meeting, instance_position..etc, but when I drop first object NEXT to other, there is collision. How to fix this?
Origin set to center, collision mask is precise, I even make collision mask smaller than sprite.

Probably I'm missing something, but I dont know what :)

jo-thijs

Hi everyone, I'm new with Gamemaker. So I have problem, probably because of myself :)
Sorry if my english is not good :)

Well, I'm creating game where you pick up an object and with mouse move it and drop it where you want, and if some other object is already at this position, first object needs to go back to previous position. It is grid moving.
Objects are like that in tetris game.
So, my problem is..
I used place_meeting, position_meeting, instance_position..etc, but when I drop first object NEXT to other, there is collision. How to fix this?
Origin set to center, collision mask is precise, I even make collision mask smaller than sprite.

Probably I'm missing something, but I dont know what :)
Hi and welcome to the GMC!

I'm not 100% sure what your exac issue is.
As I'm understanding it, you've got objects arranged in a grid.
You want to teleport some object to a new location on the grid.
You first perform some collision checks,
but those give false positives when you try to move an object
to a free spot, right next to an occupied spot on te grid.
Is that correct?

In that case, I would like to ask what code you're currently using
and what the hitboxe widths and heights and such are,