What's your drive when making a video game?

nicognito

My question is simple, maybe already asked... I was wondering, when you're a solo developer, what is your "drive", the things that keep you motivated to work or complete your video game? (love of video game, game as art, financial revenue, delighting gamers, learning, being famous... ?). I feel like hearing your stories could keep me motivated.

Some context:
I'm new to Game Maker, got my GMS 2 license a few weeks ago, and somehow I already feel discouraged by the language and the development tool :oops: I'm a software engineer by day (I've been used to more robust languages and better IDEs, which explain partly why I feel a bit discouraged by GMS :p), but I love video games since I was a kid and I always dreamed about making my own game... I've seen completed/work-in-progress games on this forum, and I'm amazed by what people accomplished: even if by some standards, I would say some games looked not great or bad, I'm not even sure I would be able to achieve a third of what people did (this is the big part that discourages me).