Basic AI? Follow and damage

L

LuckyTHR

Hi All

I am by no means a coder but I enjoy playing around with GM,

I have a semi working engine up and running, but now I need some advice with my AI, all they need to do is follow my player when they are in range and do damage when touching player, Mario style.

I had coding where they chased me around but somehow that broke.

Thanks

S

Shariku Onikage

If you're not a coder now's the time to learn. Enemy AI will require going beyond the basic DnD functions of Game Maker, and this is going to have different answers depending on the format of your game. Is it platformer, or top down?

I'm assuming from the mario comment it's a platformer. Your basic logic is going to be if player is close and nothing is in the way, then move towards player. distance_to_object is a pretty basic function to use for this. You can set it so that if the enemy is a certain distance from the player it 'sees' the player and you then increase the enemies speed to chase the player down.

Look up collision_line in the reference library as well if objects are likely to be in the way. You can have something like the following in the enemy's step process:

Code:
if distance_to_object(player)<=widthOfTheScreen{    //prevents Bowser from running across the map to get you
      if (collision_line(x,y,player.x,player.y,oBlock,true,true) = noone) {
           direction=point_direction(x,y,player.x,player.y);
           speed= fasterThanWalkingSpeed;
    }
}
That should help you get started.

Last edited by a moderator:

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
I'd personally recommend using a speed that's slower than walking speed for the optimal game experience (unless the player can run to move faster). If the player can't run away from enemies they didn't see in time, the game becomes needlessly punishing.

L

LuckyTHR

Thanks Shariku

Yes it is a platformer.

Will give this a try now and let you know.