Discussion How to fail gamedev in 8 easy steps

Here is a little thing I started on gamejolt, the original can be found here: https://gamejolt.com/f/how-to-fail-gamedev-in-8-easy-steps/271963 . If you have any horrible dev advice, feel free to give it by replying to this thread :)

As an amazing game developer, I feel that it is my duty to inform you all on how to fail a game. Making a successful game is hard and requires effort and luck. But failing at gamedev can be surprisingly easy and you can achieve this by following my very simple guide:

#FailGameDev

Step 1: maximize your scope

A video game is first and foremost an amazing concept. Just having one idea for a core gameplay mechanic is not enough, you must think about every detail and cram as much potential content into your game before you even start coding. After all it is well known that people like very long games with lots of content and will just HATE simple games ESPECIALLY if you are an independant dev with no budget. You don't want your game to be rated along other puny indie games. You want to be compared to those AAA games that take years of development and thousands of people to make. Are you working solo? This is perfect! You will make as much revenue as a triple A title does and you won't need to share it with others because by following this guide you will become a god-like dev who can do everything on his own. There is no reason to keep things simple, because you master all the aspects of gamedev.

Step 2: be the idea guy