Graphics Swaying grass tutorial - GMWolf

GMWolf

aka fel666
GM Version: GameMaker:Studio 2
Target Platform: ALL
Download: N/A
Links: YouTube Video
Summary:
Add lush swaying grass to your game with this powerful solution.
This video aims to introduce you to Vertex Buffers and Vertex Shaders in GameMaker Studio 2, by building a a simple grass mesh generator, with a simple shader to animate it.

Tutorial:
Hope you find this useful! I would love to see what you come up with!

T

trichome

grass_shader.PNG

Cheers for this Fel666, just finished your tutorial and have a working moving grass shader :). It's my first attempt at a shader and using vertexes.

Very nice tutorial and easy to follow.

Sammi3

So this is what they did on breath of the wild... :p
I'm trying to convert this from triangles into a trianglestrip (my grass is more rectangular). You used 2 triangles per blade of grass on this one (t1 and t2) what part of the blade do each of these triangles correspond to?

GMWolf

aka fel666
So this is what they did on breath of the wild... :p
I'm trying to convert this from triangles into a trianglestrip (my grass is more rectangular). You used 2 triangles per blade of grass on this one (t1 and t2) what part of the blade do each of these triangles correspond to?
I actualmy use more than two triangles (notice the for loop?)

The pair of triangles actually form a rectangle, and multiple rectangles are used to build up a blade of grass.

Sammi3

I actualmy use more than two triangles (notice the for loop?)

The pair of triangles actually form a rectangle, and multiple rectangles are used to build up a blade of grass.
So I wouldn't have to change it into a trianglestrip but rather keep the base width and top width consistent with each other?

GMWolf

aka fel666
So I wouldn't have to change it into a trianglestrip but rather keep the base width and top width consistent with each other?
Yes.