GameMaker Score that follows camera

W

Wyrmis

Hello

I am new to GMS2, and am programming a sonic game for a programming project.
The last thing I need to do is to show the score, but I need it follow the view. I don't know what code I need or where to put it. I have created an invisible, non-solid object with the following code:

Code:
x= view_xport[view_current] + 320;
y= view_yport[view_current];
draw_set_font(RingFont);
draw_set_color(c_white);
draw_text(x, y, (global.rings));

S

Selva

I am going to recommend that you investigate the "Draw GUI" event. It draws directly to the visible screen, to to the room.

Note, however, my knowledge of this is very limited. So consulting the user manual to the rather difficult to find Draw GUI section would be very very recommended.

G

GameMakerPero

I am also pretty new to gamemaker but I believe I originally learned this from one of the Shaun Spalding videos. The below is the code (within the draw event of my score object) I am using for an experiment I am doing (with a room size of 4096x3072, viewpoints enabled, camera and viewpoint properties both 2048x1536). You'll want to change the "40" and "60" values below based on your needs. If you are doing multiple rooms, make sure you understand the "persistent" option.

Correct me if I am wrong but I believe by merely using "x" and "y," you are pulling the location of where you have placed the object within the room (or where it currently has moved if for some reason you are controlling movement of your score :) ), whereas with the below, it overrides such placement (and therefore you can place it anywhere within the room).

You might also want to place your score object within its own layer above your instances so that instances will appear behind your text.

Hope this works/helps.

var vx = camera_get_view_x(view_camera[0]);
var vy = camera_get_view_y(view_camera[0]);

{
draw_set_color(c_red);
draw_set_font(f_dos);
draw_text(vx + 40, vy + 60, global.points)
}

W

Wyrmis