• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM [Shaders] Circle Area *SOLVED*

Momfus

Hi, I'm new in the use of shaders and i tried to make a shader on a sprite that make all the area inside a circle (center in the middle of the sprite) with a gray color and nothing outside of that circle.

I have a object ob_planet with a 300x300 sprite (is just a circle with different colors) and in the creat event i have this:

Code:
my_shader = shader_circle_gray;

uv = sprite_get_uvs(sprite_index, 0);

middle = 0;

middle[0] = (uv[0] + uv[2])/2;
middle[1] = (uv[1] + uv[3])/2;

In the draw event this:

Code:
shader_set(my_shader);

var shader_params = shader_get_uniform(my_shader, "middle");
    shader_set_uniform_f_array(shader_params, middle );

draw_self();

shader_reset();

Now, in the fragment of the shader

Code:
varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;

uniform vec2 middle; //middle of the sprite using uv

void main(){

vec4 o_pixel = v_vColour * texture2D(gm_BaseTexture, v_vTexcoord);

float red = o_pixel.r;
    float green = o_pixel.g;
    float blue = o_pixel.b;
    float alpha = o_pixel.a;

//circle radio
    float radio = 0.1; 

if(  "know if the actual pixel is in the circle area center in the middle" ){

float gray= (red + green + blue ) / 3.0;
        red = gray;
        green = gray;
        blue = gray;

}

o_pixel = vec4(red, green, blue, alpha);
    gl_FragColor = o_pixel;  

}

I read the xorTutorials.com and thebookofshaders.com but i can't make a circle with a "r" radio that make the sprite gray inside the circle. Some help please?

jo-thijs