Portfolio - General Looking to help FREE

N

Noctis

Looking to help on someones short term project or brainstorm a short project together for free.

Wanting to challenge myself and learn more GML, so programming preferred. However I can do Design, low pixel art, compose, mix and master music.

Ideally I'd want to team up with another programmer to help critique my code and improve my skills.

I spend about 5-15 hours on game dev per week.

Below is some quick examples of my work. I am seeking this to help build a portfolio so there is not much to show.

Example_code.png
Noctis.png Hero_down.jpg anim_explosion.png

Vxss57

Want a challenge??? Do you want to code an isometric game for me??? Im an artist so no help in coding for me

B

beyond_help

Hey, i've just started programming after a 5 year hiatus. Currently working on an RPG engine which will be a mix of Zelda and fire emblem.

Feel free to message me for more details :)

J

JeTSpice

probably put some "else if" statements in there.
as it is, the step event will check all those conditionals every time.
if you have something like
if...
else if...
else if...
else...

then, when any of those conditionals is met, the step event will skip the rest of them.
makes it faster.

another thing that will speed it up is to make a boolean variable called
playerExperienceChanged

And then, whenever the player gets experience points, set playerExperienceChanged to true.
and then, in the step event, check for playerExperienceChanged to be true,
and if it is, then check the player's particular level and exp points.

So you're just checking a single boolean in the step event, sixty times a second (or whatever your frame rate is)
instead of checking a lot of conditionals each step.
And every once in awhile, when the player's exp goes up, then the players level and exp is checked to see if they leveled up

N

Noctis

Thanks for the advice JeTSpice :)