How can I change the direction of a drawn sprite?

D

Den

So I have made an outline that appears over an enemy when the mouse goes over it but I can't figure out a good way to draw the outline in the left direction without using rotate, but if I use rotate it just stretches the outline.
I'm pretty new to drawing code so It could just be something obvious lol.

Here's the drawing code:
Code:
///Draw The Outline
draw_self();

//Set the color
var outline_color = c_black;

//Draw the sprite 1 pixel off in each direction
if(position_meeting(mouse_x, mouse_y, Enemy_Parent)) {
draw_sprite_ext(sprite_index, -1, x - 1, y, 1, 1, 0, outline_color, 1);
draw_sprite_ext(sprite_index, -1, x + 1, y, 1, 1, 0, outline_color, 1);
draw_sprite_ext(sprite_index, -1, x, y - 1, 1, 1, 0, outline_color, 1);
draw_sprite_ext(sprite_index, -1, x, y + 1, 1, 1, 0, outline_color, 1);

//Draw the regular sprite at origin
draw_sprite(sprite_index, -1, x, y);
}

Tthecreator

Your Creator!
What do you mean it "stretches the outline"

What you should know when rotating is that it rotates around the sprites origin.
That's the point you specify inside the sprite editor. Set this to the middle or your sprite, and the sprite will also spin and scale around the center point.

M

Mishtiff

Hi, Tthecreator is probably correct. Go into your sprite for the enemy and be sure that you have centered out its origin. I could be wrong, but I think the simplest way to do this is just to draw 4 lines around your sprite. You can put this into a script and just send the sprites info to it.

get the units x/y, and get the sprite size:
var enemy_x = Enemy_Parent.x;
var enemy_y = Enemy_Parent.y;
var sprite_w = Enemy_Parent.sprite_width;
var sprite_h = Enemy_Parent.sprite_height;

Now just do the easy work:

draw_set_colour(c_red);
draw_line(x - (sprite_w/2), y - (sprite_h/2), x + (sprite_w/2), y - (sprite_h/2)); //top line -
draw_line(x + (sprite_w/2), y - (sprite_h/2), x + (sprite_w/2), y + (sprite_h/2)); //right line -|