• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

[Unresolved]Enemy Tile Collison - with additional random movement -

S

SolariumScum

I'm trying to get my enemy sprite/objects to not fall off (for certain enemies) or to actually fall off (certain other enemies) the top of the tiles in my 2d Platformer... also when hitting a collision tile object (box's ect...) then just turn around reversing direction -- ALL WHILE KEEPING MY RANDOMIZED DIRECTIONAL HOROZONTAL MOVEMENT.

I'm completely new to coding, like 3 weeks, first game ever attempted. First post ever as well.

I used the tutorial for the Platformer in Game Maker 2 as base -- YOYO PLATFORMER LITE --
I got the randomized direction (sudo AI) for the enemies working but then seems to cancel out the tile edge detection the original game had - essentially letting the enemies continue to go horizontally off the tiles tops, continuing the randomness in direction, but not staying on top of the tiles and reversing to only stay on top (would be great to have gravity make OTHER enemies fall down to next tile top as well) ...additionally when hitting a tile collision (box collision tile) also reversing direction?
Hope someone can help has really stopped my progress on the basic enemy movement and essentially the foundation of the game.

Code:
/// --ENEMY OBJECT CREATE EVENT--
// You can write your code in this editor
dir = choose(-1,1);
   // direction the ghost will be moving in
spd = 0;            // speed the ghost moves
   g= 0.2;        // ghosts gravity
vspd = 0;            // vertical speed the ghost is moving in
hspd = 0;            // horizontal speed the ghost is moving in
////////////////speed the ghost is moving in